The New Jersey Real Estate Commission
(REC) is the real estate licensing authority. The Commission administers and enforces New Jersey's real estate licensing law and regulations adopted by the Commission. All applicants for licensure as a broker, salesperson or broker-salesperson must fulfill the educational requirements for licensure established by law, and pass an examination conducted under the supervision of the Commission. The Commission is empowered to revoke licenses and/or otherwise sanction individuals and firms for violations of the license law.
Following is a general description of the requirements for licensure as a New Jersey real estate broker, salesperson or broker-salesperson. Click here
for a full description of the REC's requirements.
To qualify for a real estate salesperson's license an applicant must be 18 years of age or older, have a high school education or equivalency, complete a 75 hour prelicensure course at a licensed school
and pass the license examination. After successfully completing the course and passing the examination, the applicant must apply for a license through a sponsoring real estate broker.
To qualify for a broker's license, an applicant must have a high school education or equivalency and must successfully complete 150 hours of prelicensure education. Applicants must first complete a 90-hour general real estate course, and then two 30-hour courses on Agency/Ethics and Office Management and related topics. In addition, applicants must have been continually licensed and employed on a full-time basis as a New Jersey real estate salesperson for the three years immediately preceding application.
A broker-salesperson is qualified to be licensed as a real estate broker but is employed by and operates under the supervision of a licensed real estate broker to perform the functions of a real estate salesperson. To become a broker-salesperson, an applicant must first meet the licensing requirements of a real estate broker.
If an applicant has ever been convicted of a crime or is currently on parole or probation his/her application for a real estate license may be denied.
For more information about obtaining a New Jersey real estate license, visit www.nj.gov/dobi/remnu.shtml
or call the New Jersey Real Estate Commission Education Bureau at (609) 292-8300 extension 50113 or 50137.
for a list of Licensed Real Estate Schools.
For licensing inquiries, contact:
Licensing Bureau, Real Estate
NJ Dept. of Banking and Insurance
PO Box 474
Trenton, NJ 08625-0474
Phone: (609) 292-7053
FAX: (609) 292-6765
Licensees can learn more about becoming a member
of the REALTOR®